Pursuing Compensation for a car accident that is caused by a rash driver driving under intoxication, is one thing.
But if you are hit by an individual who is unlicensed, things might be a bit difficult.
Now, the question might dance into your bosom…how will you be able to pursue compensation for your damages?
No, you are mistaken, not a million-dollar question but a bit of awareness. However, if you can’t withstand the enquiring rat within, then you could consult a DUI lawyer in Phoenix.
In this article, we are going to discuss the whereabouts of Accidents caused by unlicensed drivers and claim compensation. So without further ado, let’s get down to the brass tacks.
We know it makes you a bit jittery to hear that claims from unlicensed drivers are a bit difficult to extract.
Well, why are the drivers unlicensed? Unlicensed drivers are unlicensed for some reason. The most deadening threat with the unlicensed drivers is that they are not trained.
They hit the streets with their lives and others at stake. And you know what? They are ignorant of the basic rules and regulations of the roads.
Let us put forth some hard facts to digest. According to the reading AAA Foundation, a massive 1 in 5 accidents (18.2%) are caused by unlicensed drivers.
To get more inside, around 6.7% of the drives have their respective DLs revoked or suspended. Around 1.1% of them have their DLs not revoked.
And the best for you…around 0.5% of the drivers are simply never licensed. So how caustic, sarcastic, and costly it is for you! Just have thought about it.
You may like to read: Pros & Cons Of Hiring A Worker’s Compensation Lawyer
So do you think that you are almost helpless when hit by unlicensed drivers? So do you think that the US laws for Unlicensed drivers are like parents’ soft corner for Ailing children?
That’s not the case. Laws in the US for unlicensed drivers are extremely tough. Let us feed you with an example.
According to chapter 521 of the Transportation Code, if anyone is found to be violating the provisions could be charged with a misdemeanor.
And yes Penalties waiting.
- A $200 fine for the first violation.
- A fine of $50 to $200 for the second time.
- And the big one, a fine of $500, and between 72 hours to 6 Months of Jail you are caught for the third time.
These are through the basics, there is more to it. In such a case consult a Phoenix DUI Lawyer for greater detail.
Suppose the situation arises that the driver who caused your accident is unlicenced and he/she was driving someone else’s car with the permission of the owner. In that case, you are able to pursue a claim through the insurance policy of the owner.
In this scenario let us tell you that successfully extracting claims turn out to be extremely difficult simply because the driver is unlicensed.
You will have to go through some entanglement and you will not be able to manage it all alone. Consult a Phoenix DUI Lawyer in that case. It will be easier for you.
Now in a second instance, you might meet with an accident caused by a driver who is not licensed.
And moreover, the individual may not be under some kind of insurance coverage. Let me give you an example of Illinois laws.
According to the laws in Illinois, all drivers must have a minimum level of liability insurance. This is mandatory.
Now how will you be recovering your claims from a person who is not insured? In that case, you could file a personal injury lawsuit against the other driver or turn to a personal uninsured motorist mortgage. That might save you on this journey.
Having discussed the provision let me assure you one thing. No, we’re not here to frighten you here.
By this time you have already known that Personal Injury Claims especially when you are hit by an unlicensed driver are tough.
So what to do now? Well, you have your options will open. But to exploit the situation to the fullest and ensure extraction of the compensation, you need to consult a lawyer’s advice. And DUI lawyer in Phoenix has the capacity to guide you in your exigency.